PDA

View Full Version : Chest Stubborn, Bench press feels more of...

billyjr
06-06-2009, 03:45 AM
For some reason my chest has always been stubborn. Ive been bbing on/off for over 3 years. I am just now fully committing myself because I had health issues in the past that have been resolved.

I always feel when I am doing a barbell bench press, (monster of chest workouts and staple), that I feel it a ton in my lats. It doesnt even matter if I try to do light weight vs all out heavy sets 3-5 reps. My lats def grow a ton faster and my back overshawdows along with my shoulders my chest.

Am i doing the bench press wrong? Has anyone else had this feeling that they feel it more in their back/lats?

BIGALO
06-06-2009, 11:48 AM
try pre-exhausting your pecs with flyes, crossovers or the pec-deck then try benching. Dumbell benching i find is easier to focus on the pecs.

militantmuscle
06-06-2009, 01:18 PM
Try changing your grip. Also have someone observe to make sure that when you perform the exercise you are moving on a 'curve', bench isn't a straight up and down exercise.

mr intensity
06-06-2009, 02:30 PM
try doing all the incline movements barbell dumbell presses and flys after pre exhaustion....

Sledge
06-06-2009, 06:45 PM
Get someone to check your form and body position on the bench. Sounds to me like your kind of hunched on the bench, keeping your back flat along it's length. Your back should retain it's natural arch on the bench if you try and flatten it out it can cause you to experience discomfort in your lats.

Also try switching to dumbell bench for a while and realy concentrate on form and contracting your pecs with each rep, weight will be lighter than with barbell so be ready for that, start with about 70% of the weight you barbell bench then work up to a good working weight with good form.

billyjr
06-10-2009, 10:33 PM