PDA

View Full Version : Contest Diet

meatheadio
02-16-2009, 05:08 PM
I am currently in my 3rd year of a Bachelor of Applied Science/Bachelor of Business Management. My formal studies combined with alot more informal study has formed the foundation of knowledge for this cutting cycle.
I started my cutting cycle a little over 4 weeks ago. Unfortunatley due to Univristy exams and other excuses I let my body fat drift up a little higher than I would've liked. I am naturally quite endomorphic so started cutting at 85 kg (187 pounds) @ 18% body fat. (I do not recommend letting body fat het this high and will be closely monitoring my next bulk cycle to ensure this doesn't happen again.
After 4 weeks of dieting and no cardio I am 82 kg (180.4 pounds) @ 14% body fat. This weight and body fat level indicates a 1.8 pound gain in LBM (lean body mass). This is quite normal for many people due to the more regimented nutrient intake and training plan. However I would be foolish to think that any further gains could be made whilst in such a caloric deficit.
Diet is as follows. 200 gm protein (800 Cal.), 240 gm carbohydrate (960 Cal) and 85 gm of fat (765 Cal.) for a total of 2525 Calories per day. With my weight and starting body fat levels this puts me at a 475 calorie deficit per day. This is just slightly under my 500 Cal target but shouldn't impede progress too much in the starting weeks.
Once per week (Sunday) I have my high carb day. On this day I take in 180gm protein (720 Cal.), 360 gm Carbs, (1440 Cal.) and 50 gm fat (450 Cal.) for a total of 2610 Calories. Protein and fat intake are dropped slightly for 2 reasons: 1-to keep the calories in check 2- A high protein intake is not required do to carbohydrates protein sparing properties.