PDA

View Full Version : Finishing cut, beginning "bulk"

Lunaris
08-27-2009, 10:51 AM
I've been dieting for 6 months now using a carb cycling diet. mix of high med and low days each week. Back and Leg days were high for obvious reasons, shoulders and arms med and 2 low days with carbs being around 60g.

I want to compete for the first time in May 2010 but i want to put on some more LBM before i diet down.

This is the leanest I've ever been and don't want to jump into a bulk and put on fat. So, my question is should i slowly bring calories/carbs back to maintenance for a few weeks in order to let my system reset and get used to this BF %? Or should i jump into a positive energy balance and take advantage of the possible metabolic swing?

I'll be using Christian Thibadeau's Optimum Volume Training
http://www.tmuscle.com/readArticle.do?id=459276
for the full 8 weeks.

After that, I'll continue gaining but with a bulk/cut style ala Layne Norton.

ps: some stats
6'2
started diet at 222lbs
currently holding around 198

Calories range from High days of 2700
Medium days 2400
Low Days 2000-2100

Carbs
High days 200grams
Med days 140 grams
Low days 67grams

Protein is always either at or just under 300g

Maintenance calories seems to be 3000 and i would continue carb cycling with higher macros

fitcorps
08-27-2009, 12:08 PM