PDA

View Full Version : muscle failure

clw3f
09-13-2009, 07:39 PM
I was just wondering about muscle failure. Do you take every muscle to failure on every set? I was just wondering because I will be training on my own in the next few weeks. I am very new to this and don't want to hurt myself. Thanks for any advice.

Ninja Loco
09-13-2009, 08:41 PM
True muscle failure is when you cannot do another rep in good form. It does not mean when you cannot do another rep without throwing a ton of body english into the mix.

If you are a beginner with less than three years straight and solid workout experience I dont recommend training to failure. Everyone needs a base before they start throwing in advanced techniques like that. Thats just common sense. There are plenty of other intensity techniques available if you search. I train on my own too so Ive had to learn plenty of them.

Sledge
09-13-2009, 10:51 PM
I totaly agree with Ninja.
It's been my experience that most new trainers reach mental failure before actual physical failure. If your really new to this I'd recommend not training to total muscular failure but the last 1 or 2 reps of every set should be close to the edge when done with good form, and maybe the last set of a given exercise might reach failure on the last rep. increase weights by small increments when you can and when you do really concentrate on form (i bet you surprise yourself and raise the weight more regularly than you thought). Concentrate on form much more than weight, and leave your ego at the door when you walk into the gym. :)

Oh and also if your training alone select exercises that allow you to do so safely. ie dumbbell bench press instead of barbell bench press, that sort of thing.

mr intensity
09-14-2009, 01:30 AM
i was fortunate enough to have a very good coach at the begning of my training he taught me the concept of progressive overload supradded with excellent form.
first