PDA

View Full Version : This is embarrassing... but I need help getting defined!

Saki
11-01-2009, 04:36 PM
Hi folks,

Thanks for clicking on my post. I am about to turn 38, 6'2", 205lbs, and despite trying to get leaner for years, I have not had much success. Here are some pics so you can see where I am coming from (no laughing!):
I know it will be hard to believe, but I have been training for several years. I usually do a 4-day split, and cardio 2-3 days/week. I typically get between 2500 and 3000 calories/day, but I tend to yo-yo a lot: I eat big and see improvements in the gym, then after about a few months, I start to feel like I am getting fat, so I cut calories, and end up looking smaller, but not leaner.

I don't expect to look like a competitive bodybuilder — although I wouldn't mind ;) — but I want to get lean and tight and I want my abs to pop. I am willing to try anything. Once I get that dialed in, I feel I will be ready to work on adding size. You guys (and gals!) on this board seem to really know your stuff, so I wonder if you would please share your knowledge with me. At the same time, I am embarrassed about how I look now, so please go easy!!

Thanks!

juggernaut
11-01-2009, 04:40 PM
describe your diet and training on a day to day basis; grams only for food if possible.

juggernaut
11-01-2009, 04:41 PM
when's the last time you did a change in your routine?

How does your post workout meal look?

do you have any definitive goals? Just saying you want to "tighten up" and look like a bodybuilder isnt enough.

Bodyfat percentage?

Saki
11-01-2009, 05:01 PM
Thanks for helping me out.

On a good day my diet typically looks something like this (sorry, I only know ounces and cups):

1 – shake (2 scoops protein, 1 banana, 1.5 c milk, 3/4 c oats)
2 – 8 oz protein (chicken, beef, fish, lamb, etc.), 1 c rice
3 – 8 oz protein, veggies
4 – shake (2 scoops protein, 1 cup grapefruit juice), graham crackers
5 – 8 oz protein, 1 c rice, milk