PDA

View Full Version : "scared" of overtraining

ZestyT
11-18-2009, 01:10 AM
So ive been lifting for around 2 years now and i was lifting with a competing bodybuilder for awhile during his cut

ive been doing a 5 day split
monday-legs
tues-chest
weds-back
thurs-shoulders
friday-arms
saturday-abs

around 20 sets a little more, a little less each day...does anyone think this is too much?

my workouts last around 45-60 min

ive been loving how things have been going but tons of people on other forums (specifically bodybuilding.com) are saying im over training...decided i would come over here to the pros and see what yall have to say about this

mr intensity
11-18-2009, 04:32 AM
see bro, i am not a pro....but all i can say is the time when you see you are not progressing despite of putting your best efforts.... its probably because you are overtraining...... thats the reason these training system.....dc training, slingshot training have their own periodiztion protocols..... mainly to prevent overtraining...... but nothing is set in stone.... you need to know your body..... learn your rthyms

for me its after 8 weeks of intense training i usually need a week to get my sanity back..... and its after 8 weeks my gains seems to slow down....

so if you are overtraining the first sign is 1 . you are not able to perform well in the gym
2. lack motivation

TheTransformator
11-18-2009, 04:34 AM
Maybe you are undereating...? That is if you're bulking...as this guys is cutting...what is your goal...oevrtraining you feel by being depressed...legthartic....being ill etc etc!

Team Franco
11-18-2009, 07:37 AM
Very hard to overtrain.
And if you are doing one bodypart per week, I then I would really not worry about it.

Good advice from above.
I would just add, that sleep, eating and proper training are all keys. But if you feel burnt out from the current routine, change it up.

NATURAL-1987
11-18-2009, 09:03 AM
Post above me said it right.