PDA

View Full Version : Log Stuff

Sledge
04-03-2010, 08:49 PM
Ok, I've always kept paper logs of my workouts but never an online log. I'm not much of an internet person so I'll try and keep this going but I may drop off every now and again but we'll see how it goes.

I have no desire to be huge and ripped. I work as an Emergency response officer (Fire and Rescue) and I need to be able to work this requires a compromise between strength and endurance. I also do a fair bit of training of volunteer fire and rescue personnel so it's nice to be able to keep up with the guys in their 20's being 45 years old. During Girlymuscles visit we both had 4 months of more or less vacation attitude so we have both stacked on the weight. I also had rotator cuff surgery about 8 weeks ago and yesterday was my first workout after 8 weeks of nothing. Prior to that I'd had about 6 months of limited training due to the rotator cuff tear.

Goals
At this stage my goal is to slowly work back into training. I still have at leas 8 weeks recovery left on the shoulder but have been given the all clear to start lifting as long as I feel comfortable. So the main goal is to recover and to get back into training regularly without damaging myself.
A secondary goal is to loose the extra fat I have stacked on over the last few months. I'm not going crazy with dieting, just slow and steady, as long as the numbers are going down on the scale and up in the gym I'll be happy.

joedemarco
04-03-2010, 09:01 PM
Looking forward to it, Sledge.

Sledge
04-03-2010, 09:04 PM
YESTERDAY 03 April 2010

Rode mountain bike to gym about 25min

Shoulders and Triceps

Standing Dumbell Press (testing out the shoulder)
5x Warm up and acclimation sets.

8x 25kg (easy)
6x 30kg
5x 50kg
4x 30kg
Felt a little pain in the shoulder at the bottom of the movement and let that guide me when to stop instead of muscle failure.

Barbell Military Press
8x 30kg
6x 40kg
OUCH. stopped at this point to be cautious.