PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Judging?

the mighty stu
04-24-2010, 06:23 PM
I'm still fairly new at competing, and figure this might be a good place to get feedback considering there are a good number of more experienced competitors.

I was in a local natural show recently, and of course, being onstage, you never really look around and assess the other competitors, but after the fact, you watch videos, see pics, and hear things from people in the audience. Someone videotaped the overall posedown between the other class winners and myself, and while I will not comment, lest it sound like I'm just upset, I am curious what others think (this was only my 2nd show -lol)... honestly, and objectively.

YouTube- Overall Posedown Edited Length.wmv

Thanks guys.

S

Mac
04-24-2010, 06:28 PM
The guy in the black trunks is my pick for 1st place. Is that you?

Lunaris
04-24-2010, 08:41 PM
Yep thats him, he lost to the guy in the green trunks =O

joelster
04-24-2010, 08:50 PM
Black trunks all the way. Look at the calves, separation in legs, etc, etc. The guy in green trunks is *slightly* bigger but not by much at all, and his conditioning isn't as close. The video is so-low-resolution though, so it's hard to really tell the conditioning. If the guy in green was overwhelmingly bigger I could see it going his way but the rear lat spread and side shots he looks the same size. He MIGHT be 5-10lbs heavier if that, and that isn't enough to justify a win, especially since he's a little taller too. If he was an inch taller and 30lbs heavier with decent conditioning then it would be a different story.

Mac
04-24-2010, 09:25 PM
The guy that won had poor conditioning and love handles with lower stomach bulge/fat.

I thought Stu had some odd leg positioning in his posing with them being to far apart. His rear double-bi, back shots blew everyone else out of the water.

You were robbed.

the mighty stu
04-25-2010, 12:49 PM