PDA

View Full Version : Water Cutting Disaster

platehed
07-01-2010, 07:34 PM
I have been prepping my 60 year old brother for the 2010 NPC Gulf Coast Classic last week. I decided not to do a carb deplete/load. He ate well the weekend before and we tapered his carbs down to 260 a day by Friday. He stared Taraxatone Tuesday and was drinking 3 gallons of water a day. He was admittedly holding water the Saturday before as was to be expected. Wednesday, we adjusted his macros so he was taking in 8 grams of potassium and 2 grams of soduim a day. He had 2 gallons of water on Thursday and by 12pm Friday he had consumed one gallon.We cut his water to 4 ounces with each of his remaining 4 meals(45 grams of carbs per). Since the prejudging started at 8am Saturday he woke up, had some eggs and pancakes with no water. He didn't hit the stage until 12pm Saturday and the damage had been done. Flat as a board. The photos below show him at 1) June 19th 2) June 25th at 4:00pm 3) June 26th at 12:30pm. He had obviously peaked at 4pm the day before. Alot has been discussed about cutting water but here is my opinion based on my experiences.
1) Bodybuilders on the thin side but lean should never cut water. 2) Bodybuilders that don't have very round muscle bellies should never cut water 3) Unless they are unusually large, drug free bodybuilders should never cut their water. 4) If you are holding fat, cutting water will actually make you look smoother.

shawncathey
07-01-2010, 08:53 PM
ya he missed his peak a bit. imo much better in the second pic. live and learn i guess. my last show was a total disaster to, so this time around im moving forward and nailing it cuz i know what happened last time. looks good for 60 damn. good luk

joedemarco
07-01-2010, 09:22 PM