PDA

View Full Version : My Road to Competitive Bodybuilding - 21yrs Old

Fitness_By_Alex
07-14-2010, 07:12 PM
About Me:
I’m Alex. I’m 21 years old. I’m a full time college student and business owner. When I was about 16 I decided it was time to make a change in my life. I was tired of being a bit pudgy, having poor self confidence, getting sick often and feeling the mental, physical and emotional effects of lousy diet/lifestyle. I knew nothing about nutrition but ate salads, turkey sandwiches and vegetable soup to get myself from about 165lbs (pudgy) to about 110lbs (skinny as a rail). At that point I hired a personal trainer and about 2 weeks into training with him, I was hooked. The second I could see my efforts manifest themselves in positive changes to my physique I knew this was for me.
I became addicted to this new lifestyle. From 16-18 I kept training, experimenting with different nutrition styles and studying/reading everything I possibly could on the subject. I was never into team sports much, and I took a huge liking to bodybuilding because to me it was a sport, a science, an art and a lifestyle that I was collectively passionate about pursuing. By my junior year in high school I was the strongest guy in my school. I was about 200lbs at 5’9” and 8% body fat, but of course this wasn’t enough for me. I went off to college to study marketing and psychology and like everyone else, the freshman pounds piled on…mine were however in the form of 20lbs of muscle.