PDA

View Full Version : A question about supplements...

baronsrugby
07-19-2010, 10:06 PM
HI all. I've never used supplements before, at least nothing you couldn't buy in a pharmacy, but I've talked to some people who suggested I use some things and well, I figure I should come here since there seems to be some people who actually know what they are talking about. Anyway, they suggested the following:

Acetyl- Carnitine, L-Taurine, L-Tyrosine and Super B Complex

Here's the thing, I really don't know what these things are supposed to do and if it's worth my time (and money). I workout 5 times a week, play rugby the other days, I watch a steady diet of mostly protein and veggies, with some carbs thrown in here and there. I want to be stronger and in better shape, is it worth the effort or a waste?

Sorry if this has been asked 8000 times.

Sledge
07-19-2010, 10:42 PM
Acetyl-L-carnitine is a release form for both L-carnitine and acetyl groups. L-Carnitine and is utilized in the same mode in the body. However ALC also plays vital roles in protecting a supporting brain functions. Acetyl-L-carnitine is very comparable in composition and somewhat in function to the amino acid L-carnitine which is concerned in the metabolism of food into energy. The acetyl element of acetyl-L-carnitine is reported to be associated with the development of the neurotransmitter acetylcholine. Acetyl-L-carnitine contributes to the creation of the neurotransmitter acetylcholine, a complex that is believed to involve mental function. Acetylcholine metabolism malfunction in the brain, leading to absence, is believed to be associated with age-related dementias, such as Alzheimer's problem.

Acetyl L Carnitine Benefits

Acetyl-L-carnitine may play a part in delaying the sequence of Alzheimer's problem.
Acetyl-L-carnitine promotes biosynthesis of acetylcholine, a key neurotransmitter for brain and nerve function.
Acetyl-L-carnitine improves mood and memory in people with Age Associated Memory harm.