PDA

View Full Version : Eating and Nutrition for PERFORMANCE...

Matt Reynolds
01-07-2011, 09:52 AM
Hey guys,

I'm an ex-lightweight pro strongman, who is now in a heavyweight body. (Been hovering around 285 the last year or so).

I have done extensive research on Nathan Payne and others who tend to do nutrition for performance, as opposed to nutrition for cutting/bluking, etc.

My only concern is strongman performance and health. I don't care if that means me being 265 or 300, as long as I fuel my body in the correct way to perform. I had an opportunity to train a few times with Travis O this year and got to talk to him some about the changes Nathan has helped bring on - being healthier, leaner, more conditioned, and just as strong.

I have fallen in the past couple years of the trap of eating shitty food - too much fast food, etc. and I experience the symptoms of hyoglycemia, especially an hour or two after eating a big refined carb meal (say, pasta, soda, etc.)

However, my strength levels are great right now and my training drives my desire for complete nutrition so that I can more efficiently train and burn fuel.

I just wanted to get your ideas on eating for performance as opposed to cutting/bluking, etc.

I'll post what I believe to be the best choices for myself next, and would love some input on them.

Thanks!

Matt

Matt Reynolds
01-07-2011, 10:01 AM
These are the basic giudelines I am choosing to follow....

(It's been an entire week so far (lol), and I'm down to 271 already from 280 on Sunday.) - Again, I don't care about the weightloss/gain that much as long as I am eating to fuel my training and performance...

1) Cut out all refined and processed carbs (including flour and wheat products, sugar, high fructose corn syrup, etc.) with the exception of cheat meal or day on Saturday.