PDA

View Full Version : Dumbbell vs Bar for flat bench

Jello
03-27-2009, 12:26 AM
It seems like the more I read the more I'm finding that guys that have been lifting for several years don't do flat bench anymore. I have just recently started to use dumbbells for bench along with the bar and I like the movement better, but I feel like I'm missing something when I don't use the bar. Maybe it's just because it has been one of the exercises that I have done since I started lifting. I still use the bar for incline/decline press but started to alternate between bar and dumbbells for flat benches. How many of you guys have dropped the bar all together for flat bench and why?

kraken
03-27-2009, 12:29 AM
I've dropped using the bar due to pain in my right shoulder. When I use d-bells I'm fine.

buster12
03-27-2009, 12:48 AM
I hate dumbells. I never use any. I just dont like them. Maybe I should start using them again...

ChunkyThunder
03-27-2009, 12:56 AM
I work out alone so I definitely prefer dumbells. When I work out with someone or there is people there that I trust to spot me I will throw the bar in there sometimes

On top of that you can do more things with a dumbell, it is easier to adjust to get different contractions

kraken
03-27-2009, 01:21 AM
I work out alone ...
Another reason of mine.

italianmanMASS
03-27-2009, 02:59 AM
dumbbells for the free range of motion

Ninja Loco
03-27-2009, 03:39 AM
I love the DBs for the free range of motion. The whole feel of the exercise is far superior to that of a flat bench. Only problem I have is setting them up. That takes a shitload out of me.

Sledge
03-27-2009, 06:25 AM
DB for me. Gives a correct range of motion and as I train alone alows me to push myself wihout getting in to potentialy dangerous situations.

Shadow
03-27-2009, 06:27 AM