PDA

View Full Version : Strongman/Powerlifting post hernia surgery

SupplementJunkie
06-10-2011, 08:21 PM
Hi everyone. I am not one hundred percent sure this is the right forum, but its how I train, strongman and powerlifting exercises. Its what I have done the past 20 years so it is a huge or should I say almost the biggest part of my life next to family..

I am 42 years old, and had a laproscopic bowel resection this past March to correct diverticultis, which I have been fighting for the past ten years. I had a nasty attack last August so I made the decision to finally have it done. I thought once the surgery was done I could finally move on with my life. Well the surgery went well, but what I did not know till after was that I was suseptible to incisional hernias. My surgeon told me I could start training 6 weeks post surgery and that my chance of getting teh hernia was minimal cuase I did not have any risk factors such as diabetes, not a smoker, not overweight, etc..So at 6 weeks I began training, the same was I always have..

Well, a few weeks later, here I am with a hernia..I felt something pull in my stomach last week, had some nasty pain, and a few days later I went and saw the surgeon. He said I had a small incisional hernia that would require immediate surgery..When I asked him why I got the hernia, he said well people who put huge stress on their abdomens post surgery have this chance..Well I fully explained to him in the beginning how I train, and train heavy, and he still gave me the green light but now he was kinda back peddleing..Anyway, I asked him again how long I had to wait to train after the hernia surgery and he once again said 6 weeks. I respect him cause he does good work, but I just dont think he really understands how powerlifters and strongman train..