PDA

View Full Version : Gretchen's Fitness Training Journal

FitnessGretch
07-04-2011, 04:36 PM
My name is Gretchen Quast and I live in Anchorage Alaska. I am in the process of training for my first competition. My competition date is August 20th and I will be competing in both Fitness and Figure. (Although my main focus will be the fitness division--but since I will have already leaned out and put in the work---why not enter Figure as well!)

I am a full time personal trainer and because of this I really understand the value in working with professionals. I have quickly come to the conclusion that training for a Fitness Comp is tremendously different then the 'general' diet and resistance training I teach to my clients. This being my first competition, and I am working with the fabulous Cinzia Clapp (IFBB Fitness Pro) for posing, routine, gymnastics and resistance training. I am also working with Shawn Clapp for my nutrition. In addition to Shawn and Cinzia, I am part of a amazing group of women in Alaska called 907 Muscle Girls. We are a group of Fitness, Figure and Bikini competitors who meet up regularly and keep each other accountable. The team is overseen by Shawn and Cinzia Clapp and is a sister team to Tanji Johnson's Save Fitness team.

Training for this upcoming fitness competition has been the ultimate challenge. I have never done gymnastics nor do I have any sort of background in dance or cheer. ((These seem to be great staples in any fitness competitors' background.)) However, I am a highly motivated individual who needs and thrives on being challenged. I love fitness and exercise. I love pushing my body to the next level. I love feeling capable in my own skin and competing seemed like the next logical step in my fitness journey.