PDA

View Full Version : a stronger over head press

MadHatter67
04-04-2012, 06:28 PM
gents, im new to strongman...have one competition under my belt but have about 12 years experience lifting. i set a new pr for myself today on ohp with 275...i went for 295, made it about 3/4 of the way up but couldnt lock it out. any suggestions on how i can improve my lockout strength or anything i can do to improve this lift in general?

robert da strongman
04-04-2012, 08:41 PM
train the hell out of your tris for the lockout...close grip bench, rolling extensions, press lockouts

robert da strongman
04-04-2012, 08:52 PM
here is a great video, awesome technique by andy vincent

w5Ui5Hkp48g

MadHatter67
04-06-2012, 10:29 AM
thanks for the help, what are press lockouts?

robert da strongman
04-06-2012, 11:01 AM
thanks for the help, what are press lockouts?

No problem...

Lockouts are the last portion of the lift. The bar goes From eye level to lockout. Best to do these seated

Ryan Bracewell
04-06-2012, 11:02 AM
a lot of it will be technique. There are few genetically gifted people that will straight press 400lbs, so you will need to learn how to push jerk. if your not really familiar with P.Jerks I would recommend rotating heavy days where you go for a 1 rep max, and light(speed) days where you use 75-80% of your max for multiple sets of 1 rep.

MadHatter67
04-06-2012, 01:54 PM
No problem...

Lockouts are the last portion of the lift. The bar goes From eye level to lockout. Best to do these seated

i will definitley be adding these into my program.

ryan-thanks for the info...i already do something similar to what you are talking about and have made good gains with it. i will study some videos and make sure im using proper technique.

robert da strongman
04-07-2012, 07:23 AM
Hope they work for you. Keep us posted... Do you have a comp planed?

TXFatback
04-07-2012, 11:57 AM