PDA

View Full Version : Why do you work out?

HeavyDutyGuy
04-19-2009, 06:41 PM
Whatever reason you had to start, why do you do it now? Note- this will be similiar, but not exactly the same as polls I will post in the general and masters sections. I am posting multiple polls as I suspect the reasons may vary, and this way I think it will be easier to interpret the data. If you answer 'other' please specify why. Have fun!

HeavyDutyGuy
04-25-2009, 03:09 AM
Not many responses. I guess noone works out for any particular reasons? .

sassy69
04-25-2009, 03:25 AM
I posted in the Masters section.

I started lifting almost by accident long before I knew you could compete in BB and way long before figure ever existed. I wasn't concerned about muscle or fat, but I just loved the fact that I could leg press 100 lb at 15 yrs old. Its always been my "me" time where I could see what I could do and air out my brain from a 20 yr career as a computer jockey. The result is a lot of personal strength & satisfaction. Getting on stage gave me a place to target my workouts & get the whole diet, training, cardio thing to produce results that meant I was no longer a clueless victim of "good German breeding hips", and I overcame the last (or one of the last) of my childhood hangups being ridiculously shy. There's really not much I can't see myself taking on after surviving that first competition.

All the other stuff you list is just icing on the cake!

GirlyMuscle
04-25-2009, 10:43 AM
Many reasons. It started so I could lose weight. It continues because I like the way I feel and look. Bodybuilding has helped me to be happy with and accept my body.

Lee Penman
04-25-2009, 11:36 PM
I began working out when I was anorexic (BAD!) but I turned it around -once working out became 'bodybuilding' not 'bodybreaking' - and it actually became a valuable part of my recovery process.

stephaniewicked
04-26-2009, 04:20 PM