PDA

View Full Version : oh god, newbie with a workout plan question

slumcookie
05-05-2009, 11:09 PM
Hi guys! I am new to this fourm and somewhat new to lifting weights and eating clean. I guess general stats... 23 yrs old, 5'9, 143lbs

My question is what do I need to put together a well-balanced, productive workout program? Should I post some pictures so you guys can tell me what to work on?

What I've been doing is alternating upper and lower body workout supplemented with cardio 6 times a week, (forgive me if my terminology is a bit off)

Mon/Weds/Friday - upper body
pushups
tricep dips
overhead shoulder press
shoulder raises
incline flyes
flat flyes
curls
tricep kickbacks
lat pulldowns

tues/thurs/sat
leg presses
lunges
side leg lunges
squats
roman deadlifts
leg curls

cardio could be running at the dog park w/ my dog, running on the treadmill for 1/2 hour at 8 mph, mountain biking (if I do that, I skip lowerbody workout day)

I must sound like a newbie
but I'd like to know if what I'm doing is effective or somehow detrimental....

GirlyMuscle
05-05-2009, 11:17 PM
I assume you're ....male? You need to post your goals as well. If you're looking to build I'd say cut way back on the cardio. You should post up your food plan as well.

Sledge
05-05-2009, 11:24 PM
Hi Glad to see you here. The only dumb questions are the ones you never ask, because then you never know the answer.:)

You don't need to post pics unless your comfortable doing so.

Are you a male or female

What are you long and short term goals. To realy get an effective training progrem together you have to know what you want to achive.

6 days a week training seems like a lot to me. Remember your body grows and repairs it's self while you rest.
But realy that depends what you want to get out of the training.

At 5'9 and 143lb I imagine your pretty lean.

slumcookie
05-05-2009, 11:24 PM
HAHAHA! no! I'm a girl. :-) I guess I should have mentioned that.