RX MEMBER

Default Muscle Maturity & Patience

They say that good thing come to those that wait. Well unfortunately I (as maybe many of you) are probably struggling to accept this idea. I have been lifting for 4 years now, but I only really seriously started training in Aug '14. I have been eating clean and living lean and yet I STILL don't see the muscular definition and shape I expect to see at my body fat percentage. When I complained to my husband, who has been lifting for 15 years, he mentioned the idea of muscle maturity. I understood and realized what he was explaining to me made sense, especially when I look at many of the stunning physiques on this site, they do belong to people over 30 (don't be offended young people yall look good too, just read the following article). I still deciced to look around to learn more about this phenomenon, just to make sure it was real. Sure enough, I found many articles but this one in particular made a lot of sense to me. I decided to share this article because I know I am not the only one out there lacking patience. Sometimes the answer is not train/ diet harder, sometimes the answer is just be patient. So read this and feel free to post some thoughts.

http://www.mikelipowski.com/2014/06/...al-appearance/

There are some basic contributions to how you "look" in terms of musculature - your genetics (which is the sum of your inherited "build" as well as metabolism) and your lifestyle (which is the sum total of eating to grow, lifting hard to tear down & rebuild muscle & recovery to allow that rebuilding time). But generally I say if you want to see a dramatic change in your body, you need to spend the time to allow your body to acclimate to the changes you are forcing. Meaning you can get really hardcore w/ a 'build & grow' lifestyle, but then you need to allow time for your whole body to be able to support those results - everything from the weakest links (joints, tendons, ligaments) to your metabolism.