Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Default baby muscle's powerlifting/training journal

SO, I'm 5 weeks out from a powerlifting world championship (my first, having never gone before due to not getting time off from work and injury setbacks).

I qualified earlier this year with a little old 655 total, (I lift in the 123 weight class). Bench press is my best lift, currently sitting at 175lbs. Looking to break the record of 190...

It's been a rocky road so far. I've been training for well over two decades but I've also struggled with health problems for longer…asthma since I was 6, hospitalizations for recurrent complex breathing issues, injuries…and now I broke my foot last week.

Good thing I did legs the day before I broke it…so I'll start with that.

(day before accident) 7/29- Back squat, 185 5x5,
    then, paused back squat 3x3 w/ 135 (count to 1-2-3 and then up)
    Supersets of 3 sets of 25 walking lunges w/ 20lb DB in each hand
    coupled w/ 3 sets single leg Romanian deadlifts w/ 20lb DB in each hand

Ortho says 6-8 weeks in aircast and says I can still bench and work back and use leg extension machine and hamstring curl machine. (I actually hardly use those machines but I will now). I can swim some (no strenuous kicking because of foot drag) so because of edema and pain, no cardio was done from Thursday 7/30 until I discovered pool on Monday 8/3.

I actually think I'm lucky, it could have been a crazy sprain that takes 6 months to a year to heal. This throws a wrench into my plans to make weight as my activity level is down because of foot. Traditionally, I've use LISS cardio (HR 120) to whittle down as I stay low carb. I swam for 30 minutes on Monday after the ortho. Fasted 40 min lap swimming this morning w/ BCAA on board...

I'll do separate entries for Tuesday and Wednesday to catch up with what I did the rest of this past week but I figured this is a good start...

So, like everyone else, I have obstacles…Today I weighed 131.2. Gulp…here we go!