Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Default Q&A: Show Prep-The Final Weeks/Days

I've seen similar threads around and thought it might be a good idea to have one in the masters section. Nothing worse then training hard/dieting for months and then blowing it the last couple of weeks with poor decisions in regards to tanning products, sodium, water, posing, etc....

Over my 20 years of bodybuilding competitions, I've pretty much tried it all. To this day, I am still learning when it comes to "dialing" it in on contest day. However, I seem to have a pretty good system down for looking my best on contest day. I hope that I can also share some of my mistakes over the years.

Let me start by saying that if you're not in shape 1-2 weeks out from your contest, there is no miracle tricks. However, if you ARE in shape, there is plenty you can do to really accentuate your physique. As many of you know, bodybuilding contests can be lost by the smallest of margins. Therefore, anything you can do to give yourself that final edge is critical.
    Last edited by joedemarco; 11-27-2009 at 01:26 PM.

Joe this exactly why I am doing the Mr. Muscle Beach open division 2 weeks before the NPC Nationals. I MUST be in the best condition (far from my biggest for obvious reasons) of my life or get humiliated up there with the 20-30 year olds. I hold my own on the sand...then I will be on target for the stage lights against the geezers 2 weeks later.

Read the following for fun only...DO NOT ATTEMPT.......
    There was one big 'however' in my past. The Over 40 Mr. Muscle Beach was done on a whim. I started my prep only 2 weeks out on a dare. I was huge from AAS and my WO partner said all I needed was to get the water out. I went on a 2 week fish/water diet and cardioed and steam roomed my butt off. When I arrived the July 4th beach was xtra packed because Sergio's WO partner flew out to compete in the Over 40s. My division. It was MY day. Avitar pic.