Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Welcome ASC's Mike Johnston, PT, CSCS. Your Rehab Q&A Guru!

My name is Mike Johnston and I am the co-owner and VP of American Strongman Corporation (ASC). I graduated from the University of Connecticut where I worked as an assistant strength coach and graduated as an Honors Scholar with a BS in Allied Health. I have been a physical therapist for 13 years practicing in sports medicine and out patient orthopedics and as such I have rehabbed tens of thousands of high school, collegiate, professional and recreational athletes. I have worked very closely with many orthopedic and neurosurgeons helping to develop rehabilitation and return to sports protocols.

I am also an athlete; I am a retired ASC 105 Kg Pro and a current 242-pound pro powerlifter. Over the years I have had many amazingly talented training partners in both powerlifting and strongman. I have been fortunate to have trained with Donnie Thompson, Marc Bartley, Brad “Wolverine” Dunn, and David Hansen to name a few. I currently train at Lexen Xtreme with Chuck Vogelpohl.

My rehab philosophy is simple; I am not in the business of telling clients what they can’t do, or what they must give up. Physical therapy is a pedagogic exercise. My goal is to teach clients how they can continue to participate in sports or in life. Whether a person wishes to lift weights, run marathons, play church league basketball or simply climb a flight of stairs, my job is to help them achieve their personal goals.

I look forward to answering questions from the RX-Muscle universe!

MJ

Mike Johnston, PT, CSCS
    VP American Strongman
    World’s Premier Strength Sport
    www.americanstrongman.com
    Attached Images Attached Images

ASC Pro Strongman Ryan Bracewell's Avatar

Mike, What type of warm-up/pre-hab movements do you recommend for strength athletes before upper body workouts & lower body workouts?

Forum Leader: Rx Strength Headquarters robert da strongman's Avatar